The Next Level: Totes:)

I’ve been expanding my horizons from paint, ink, and pens on paper & canvas to Fabric.

I have extremely basic sewing skills, and have never been one to have a mind that enjoys following a pattern…too precise…but, with a desire to paint on textiles, I am forcing myself to learn a few things.

From small zippered bags to totes:)

Easy Sew Painted Tote Bag

Easy Sew Painted Tote Bag

I found the pattern for this tote here.

IMG_1845 IMG_1848 IMG_1844 IMG_1849 IMG_1850

It’s an easy pattern to follow…trust me…if I can do it…well, you know the rest:)

This was actually an easier project than trying to put a zipper into a small make-up bag.  (previous post here)

It’s even reversible!

Thank you so much Helen Newton!!!  (owner of Lilly Blossom over at Etsy)

2 Comments

  1. heather

    Impressive. i would love to try something like this for gifts. was this pre-printed fabric or did you paint the fabric??…. i can’t tell from the photos and it looks like your art work. love it!

    1. suecarroll1

      Thanks so much Heather! They do make GREAT gifts…affordable, personal, and easy to make! I have linked the source for the pattern found on Etsy in this post. The exterior fabric is a very inexpensive muslin that I painted. I used a TEXTILE MEDIUM, mixed with acrylic paints along with permanent art pens for “doodling.” Once heat set with an iron, they are washable. If you have any other questions be sure to ask! Thanks for stopping by, and hope you try making some of these fun bags yourself!

Leave a Reply

