For the LOVE of Stencils & The Crafters Workshop:)

I have a great collection of TCW stencils. I use them almost every week, so when I read that they were having a design team call I couldn’t wait to apply.

Screen Shot 2014-03-29 at 8.58.01 AM

One of the things I love about The Crafters Workshop Products is the door they open to new and “old’ artists alike.  As a teacher, it is important for me to be able to provide tools for my students to use that will help them achieve success.  I often have lovely women in class who have been intimidated to “create,” assuming they did not have enough talent due to their lack of drawing skills.  …Put a stencil in their hands, and the walls come down!  They begin to see that creation comes in many forms and as they are “freed-up” from their past fears; they become open to experiment and grow in ways they didn’t know they could. That is very rewarding for me to see!  For my own art, stencils often provide me with inspiration…a jumping off point.  When I have “artists block,”  it helps me find focus when I begin with a stencil.

With all this thinking about stencils…I decided I would pull out a tool that I’ve had for years and NEVER tried!

IMG_5296

I also had a package of blank stencil sheets…so I was all set.

IMG_5355

Above are the two designs I came up with.

For the love of Stencils!    For the love of Stencils!

I drew my idea on a plain piece of computer paper, then traced the design on the blank stencil sheet with a sharpie, then cut them out with my old, never been used, stencil cutter.

For the love of Stencils!

The Background was made with TCW stencils, Lindy’s Sprays, and my Gelli Plate.

For the love of Stencils!

For the love of Stencils!

The above alphabet was stenciled with white acrylic paint.

The hearts below were stenciled with Heavy Body Gesso, then colored with Pan Pastels.

For the love of Stencils!

Below I stenciled the hearts by spraying Beetle Black Glimmer Mist Spray.

Stencil love

stencil love

Check out the HUGE selection of The Crafters Workshop stencils HERE!

HOpe you feel inspired to stencil today!

Thanks for reading!

Sue

 

3 Comments

    1. suecarroll1

      Connie, I just began to explore your blog…I think we are quite “like minded” Your photography is beautiful…creative and expressive in each shot. I am sooo and amateur, but became obsessed with “shooting” my granddaughter. I have a Tamron 18-270 mm and a Canon macro 60mm …too many hobbies to afford all the toys! You are very talented…Thank you for taking the time to comment on my blog:) I am now going to continue oogling your blog!

Leave a Reply

