Deli paper – Bible page inserts

BAJ:delipaper:biblepages:SueCarroll

While I was playing with Vellum page inserts, I noticed my deli paper sitting on my desk…

I’m not sure why I haven’t thought of this, and maybe some already have!

I’m LOVING it even more than vellum:)

Why Deli Paper?

Very thin (you can add more pages without worrying about your Bible being able to close)

Durable!

Holds up to WET!  (think about pickles:)  )

Transparent (for tracing)

Economical!  (500 8 x 10 sheets for less than $15)

I used my Geli plate on the above examples, then added ink and a few stamps.

I think I’m just getting started:)

Blessings,

Signature

 

23 Comments

  1. bridgetannebaker

    Freezer paper! Is great too! Thank you Sue! Is there a password for the “Bible Journaling Study-Virtue of Contentment?

    1. suecarroll1

      Hi Bridget! So glad you stopped by! What all do you do with Freezer paper? There is a password on The Bible Journaling Study. I have a book soon to be released that includes Lettering and Doodle techniques files, photos, projects and simple videos.

      1. bridgetannebaker

        I journal on it like you do with the deli paper, because its thin and it takes well to markers etc.
        I am excited about the book projects and videos and I have told you before you are my best friend☺️

    1. suecarroll1

      Hi Trudie! You can buy brown Deli Paper, but I use white and buy it at GFS. (Gordon’s Food Service) A Geli plate is a tool for creating prints. I have included a link with more information:) xohttp://www.amazon.com/Gelli-Arts-Printing-Plate-8X10/dp/B00CLALEJI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1462145657&sr=8-1&keywords=gelli+arts+gel+printing+plate

  2. Helen Gullett

    Sue, is there any different between Deli Paper – Waxed and Deli Paper Dry Wax? Which one that you use? Did you use it with acryclic paint, too? I like the idea that better than vellum especially cheaper 🙂 Thanks S lot for sharing lots of tips!

    1. suecarroll1

      Hi Helen! I have looked at the box of Deli Paper and I cannot find that information:( It does not feel as waxy as wax paper…I might describe it as “dry wax” though I don’t know if that is correct, since the box says nothing about wax. It does have a coating, which is why it holds up to wet products. Watercolor will not work, unless you “prep” the paper with something like clear gesso. (Though I haven’t tried that yet!) I used acrylic paint, but will experiment with other things and post my findings. I like the texture and finish much better than Vellum, though I do like being able to use watercolor directly on a vellum sheet. I purchased the deli paper at a Gordon’s Food Service store near me.

  3. Cheryl

    I am interested in learning how to make backgrounds like you did on the deli paper, but also how to use a similar technique on card stock or watercolor paper or whatever will work. Have you created any tutorials? It seems that the tutorials I find are multimedia and are really thick with paints and papers. It looks like you used stamps and maybe stencils. I would love a simple, somewhat step-by-step resource so that I will know what to start with, how to proceed, and what supplies are suggested. Also, what pens/markers do you use to write and draw with after you complete your background?

    1. suecarroll1

      Hi Cheryl! So nice to “meet” you:) When I get the chance (maybe this weekend) I will work on a photo tutorial for you. I used a Gelli plate (a rectangle made of gelatin that you can purchase or make yourself) to “lay down” the background colors, which are acrylic paints. You roll out small drops of color on the Gelli plate with a brayer, and then lay the deli sheet down on top of the paint. If you look up Gelli plate on You tube, you can see what I mean. After the paint dried, I added a few stamps and then drew my lettering with a pencil. (you can erase) Once I was happy with the spacing, I went over the pencil with pens. I use Micron pens for fine detail, Faber Castell brush tips for filling in lettering (and brush letters) and a Uni-ball Signo bold WHITE pen for all the white you see. I am pasting a link to a video that shows the versatility of a Gelli plate. You can also use multiple colors all at once, without doing so many layers one by one as shown in the video. Hope this info will help you! Bless you:)

      1. Cheryl

        I feel so encouraged by your reply. I appreciate your simple directions on how to get started using a gelli plate. It looks like a lot of fun when I watch on You Tube! Also, thank you for the pen suggestions. I so use the Micron and the Ubi-ball signo. Do you use the same basic steps when using other papers?
        Cheryl

  4. Emily

    Ha! When I first read this, I imagined you had saved the paper from between your ham or cheese slices from the deli – I was going to ask if you washed it before using it! After reading the comments, I now realize it’s something you buy. 🙂

  5. Gloria Vincent Keeslar

    I have no clue where to find th deli paper in that amt for that price unless it is already folded like on amazon. I would so love to try it and offer it to a Bible Journaling group I will start in about a week now.

    1. suecarroll1

      Gloria, I use folded papers. After you add a layer of paint, the fold disappears. If you aren’t intentional about getting the paint in the crease, you can sometimes see a line, or part of a line…I don’t even mind that:) I had the price wrong…at GFS they are only $6 for 500 sheets:) Others say they find them at Costco and Sams.

  6. Candy

    Fabulous idea!! I have a box of Deli paper sitting doing nothing. Used to use it for quilting.
    **Ladies you can find Deli paper in your super market :O)

Leave a Reply

