Doodle 101 / Pickles & Ice Cream/ Have my tastebuds changed????

I am continuing in the study The Armor of God by Priscilla Shirer.

This week Priscilla talks about her tastes.

Isn’t it funny how our tastes change?

When my husband and I were first married, I’d say my tastes were simple “arts and craft country,”  We often laugh, when we look back at our first home…mauve colored walls…did we really like those? Eek.

As a child, I used to marvel at the onion, tomato, and mustard sandwiches my Mom would eat. GROSS MOM.  Blue cheese, yuk. Creamed Spinach,…double yuk.  All tastes I now enjoy.  My tastes have changed.

Priscilla mentions that during one of her pregnancies, she had the overwhelming craving to eat pickles and ice cream…at the same time….something she had not had a taste for before this season of change…this time when a  precious little life was growing from within in her, creating a change in her “tastes.”

What a vivid example and picture of the change that takes place in our heart when we intentionally put on our breastplate of Righteousness…the very armor that protects our most vital organ.

CHANGE happens. It must, or we are not growing to be more like Christ.

No change = no armor.

No armor means no protection and no weapon to fight, allowing cracks to ensue….inviting the enemy in.

If my tastes aren’t changing, well…then “Houston, there is a problem.”

In the study, we are pointed to Ephesians for guidance. (Ephesians 4 and 5.)

Paul urges us to put away old tastes for new.

Put away anger…don’t let the sun go down on it. (Do I harbor anger towards my friends, co-workers, spouse?)

Put away destruction and use your hands to help, not hurt…to work honestly in order to have something to share with others. (Do I work for myself, or do I work to SHARE what God provides)

Put away corrupt talk…do not speak unless it is to build up others…not tear down, but extend grace. (Do I speak harsh words to others, forgetting the grace that has been extended to me?)

Put away bitterness, wrath, anger, slander and malice. (Do I hold on to bitterness and wish others ill will? Do I say unkind things to or about someone?)

Put away sexual impurity, immorality, or covetousness. Do not allow foolishness or crude talking. (Do I allow sin before my eyes and ears, do I covet what I do not have? Do I listen to foolishness or crude talk?)

The above tastes originate in sin.

Righteousness comes from right standing with God…as we develop new tastes that are in alignment with His tastes.

This is where true peace, joy, and contentment reside…in our obedience to truth.

Every day, I must check my taste buds!

Such a great study.

I pray that we are each reminded of our need for changing tastes.  That we will put away the old and allow the change to begin.

Blessings,

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

